1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Slap Happy Steel Core Weed Wackers First Impressions

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Slapstyle, Jun 17, 2014.

1. Slapstyle

Slapstyle

Dec 3, 2009
    Maine
    Not too impressed.

A bit of history, so you know what you're looking at, and who you're listening to. This is information that is often overlooked in reviews, and can account for a lot of misinterpretations. I rely on reviews heavily, and I wish more people would put background info in.

I've been playing EB for about 15 years, upright for a couple. I have a Shen SB 80 setup by Upton. They sent it with a middle of the road setup, Helicore Hybrids, and their wing piezo pickup. It plays immaculately, and sounds like a new, cheap plywood bass. Not very complex. It does the trick. I've played nicer instruments. I've HEARD much nicer, but it's what I could afford and it's fine. I hate the Piezo, and always have. I've never tried another piezo on this bass. I'd like to, some day. I currently use a Krivo Mag.