1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Slap It!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Kosko, May 12, 2006.

1. Kosko

Kosko

Dec 12, 2005
    Buffalo
    So I just got this book. Very good book, I impressed by the grooves and it goes from fairly simple to extremely difficult. I was just wondering if anyone's actually gone all the way through the book, because there is some incredibly difficult stuff in there. I've been playing slap for about 5 years and couldn't even start to touch some of the licks. Funky stuff, a lot of hits on the e and a. dead notes on the downbeats, funky.... difficult... just curious

2. Kosko

Kosko

Dec 12, 2005
    Buffalo
    I'll take no replies as no one has really completed this book. For all the people who ask, "How do I play slap bass?" the answer is, "this book".

3. word...

4. agreed.

5. thefruitfarmer

thefruitfarmer

Feb 25, 2006
    Kent UK
    I have had the book since March and I am about halfway through now (ex 78 out of 151) after three months.

I did originally have the book in the 80's and am going back to it now so I had a bit of a head start. I expect it is going to take a while to get really fluid and up to speed on all the basslines though.

I also reckon the latter half is going to be more difficult than the previous half.

That said though I am really getting into it and finding I can make steady progress.

It is often talked about as "the" book for learning slap and pop.

6. I got this book after reading some reviews here.

The thing that's great about this book as the exercises don't sound like a bunch of exercises. The examples are actually really cool, so it's a little more motivating for me to practice.