1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Some input on a practice regiment

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by queevil, Apr 28, 2010.

1. queevil

queevil

Aug 6, 2009
    Waco,TX
    Hello everyone,

I've been playing bass for close to 11 years now. I play well but I really want to step it up a notch. Lately I've been pondering coming up with a practice regiment but I really don't know where to start. My aim is to be a versatile bassist as opposed to a bassist that does one or two things or plays a style of music really well. I just want to be good all around. I want to be a well rounded musician. John Paul Jones is one of my heroes not because he can play bass well but because he is really a great, well rounded musician. I'm just using him as an example.

As far as a practice regiment goes I feel like there's so much I need to practice to get to where I want to be. Technique, theory, reading, ect. Like so many I'm a working family man so I need to make the most of my time. However, I have a family that is very supportive of music.