Speaker blew. Concerns of happening again

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Chris1985, Feb 26, 2018.

1. Chris1985

Chris1985

Sep 5, 2017
    1st post on this web site, tho I’ve read a lot of different threads from other bassists that have been very helpful to me. So thanks to everyone in advance! I have to mention: I am not a hardcore gear head nor do I have a lot of technical knowledge so dumbing down your responses would be helpful! Haha! On to the problem at hand: blew a speaker (crack and popping sound) continued playing, then...complete deadness from the cabinet. No sound

Gear: Ibanez 806SRFF, GK 700rb ii head, Ampeg SVT410HLF cab.
    Pedals: MXR bass di +, Korg Pitchblack tuner, Dunlop Crybaby q95(guitar wah)

Both the head and cab were bought used. Was this maybe a fluke? I am getting it repaired under protection plan, just don’t want it to happen again. We do tune very low (standard C guitars) so I tune GCFA#D#G#. I know of many bands that play this low and even lower. I’d imagine they don’t keep blowing speakers and just keep replacing them? Should I add another cab to help disperse the air pushed? I know an obvious answer would be to turn low end down, but for me, seems hollow and thin. Is there a way to still get the booming lows when you dial down low end eq? Thank you for suggestions

Last edited: Feb 26, 2018
  2. Spidey2112

Spidey2112

Aug 3, 2016
    Sounds like a pretty good rig... how long did you have it, before it blew?

3. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2002
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Not enough info but I will venture to say that, given a "healthy" enclosure, you pushed the drivers beyond their limits. I can think of a half-dozen suggestions including amplitude modification (...turn down the volume), quit bumping EQ settings, add HPF, add compression...the list goes on.

You're lucky it's being covered by a protection plan. Depending on the damage, it could be deemed "abuse".

Riis

4. BassAndReeds