1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Speaker(s) question

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by klem.gote, May 21, 2011.

1. klem.gote

klem.gote

Jan 18, 2009
    New England
    Bass Player
    Hi all. O.K., I have a Wizzy 10 that I've been using for a couple of years now. Quite happy with it over all, but have gotten curious lately about more/better sound. Aside from issues of portability and ease of transport, what would be the differences in sound between adding a second 10 or going with one of the Wizzy 12" speakers? I'm playing a Shen Willow, FC pickup and a Clarus into the Wizzy. Thanks!!

2. drurb

drurb Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC

Apr 17, 2004
    You may be interested in this post that's related to your question.

As to whether you should go with two 10s or a 12, the answer isn't so simple. Keep in mind that if you had two 10s and doubled the power, you'd increase your acoustic power by, at most, 6 dB (assuming both speakers firing on the same axis). Looking at the specs for the 10 and 12-- if we take them at face value, then they both handle roughly the same amount of power and have the same essential frequency response. The frequency response specs EA gives are essentially useless because they don't include a tolerance, as in "+/- X dB." Given that the Wizzy 10 has a smaller driver and smaller cab but is as sensitive as the Wizzy 12, then it's virtually certain that its low-end response drops faster. If you get two of them, that won't change. If you're happy with the response of the Wizzy 10 but just want more power, then there here are some pros vs. cons to having two 10s rather than one:

Pros
    You'll theoretically have twice the power handling for a maximum gain of 6 dB.

You can use the two cabs to fire along different axes so there will be more flexibility in terms of coverage.

Cons