1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Splitting and Blending Humbuckers (RBV-ish)

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by WTXBass, Nov 24, 2018.

1. WTXBass

WTXBass

Nov 17, 2018
    Let me start off by saying that I’m a newb with electronics. So I apologize if this is a dumb question or poorly thought out. I have reasearched the board but have not come across this topic.

So, I’m considering building a bass and am toying with the idea of using 2 humbuckers. I was looking at doing a PJJ, but I think the humbuckers are the better way to go. However, I want to be able to do the following using toggles, blades, rotory switch, and/or push-pull pots (PPP) without using active electronics (if possible).

Neck Humbucker Switch: split coils with a switch for Series Humbucker (SH) / Neck Side (NS) / Bridge Side (BS) / Parallel Humbucker (PH).

Bridge Humbucker Switch: same as above.

Toggle #1: Neck/Both/Bridge

Toggle, blade, rotary switch, or ? #2: the option to mix the pickups (NeckNS & BridgeNS, NeckBS & BridgeBS, NeckSH & BridgeBS...)

Toggle, blade, rotary switch, PPP, or ? #3 through #x: whatever is needed

Controls: I’m thinking V/V/T but I imagine I will need to incorporate some PPP.

This is similar to the Roscoe Beck (RBV) wiring, but I would like to be able to use each coil of the Humbucker individually. The RBV only allows PH, Coil Tap (Neck Side Only), SH.

Is this possible? Does anyone know of a bass that currently uses something similar? I know Jimmy Page’s Les Paul is similar, but his PPP are used more for phasing. The Fender Jaguar HH is close, but it uses Kill Switch and like the RBV, you can only use the Humbucker or one of the Single Coils.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

2. Axstar

Axstar SUSPENDED

Jul 8, 2016
    East of Eden.
    That seems entirely possible, if a bit complex to use on the fly perhaps.