1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Squier Vintage Modified Bass VI

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by guestOU812, Feb 28, 2018.

1. guestOU812

guestOU812 Inactive

Jul 30, 2011
    Update 3.28.18: I had custom wound pickups from Sound Laboratories made for this bass. I wanted a growly 4003 Rickenbackeresque sound. DoooOOoood! What an improvement. The sound is incredible. I would describe the sound as beefy, thick, clear as a bell and totally has a Ric growl. It's insane! Check out Sound Laboratories www.soundlaboratories.us

Let me start with the Squeir name. I would not buy one. They are generally awful and I would not recommend them to beginners. Simply because its a poorly made instrument. Why recommend something that will be uncomfortable to play and keep set up?? Please don't answer that question this is not about that philosophy, keep reading.

I started playing bass in 1980. My first bass was a crazy shaped Hundo I picked up for 220 bucks at Sam Ash in Queens, NY. From there I went all American. At 14 years old (1985) I got a Guild SB202, at 15 a G&L L2000 (still own it and it's my fav!!), then a Ric 4001, then an Ernie Ball Stingray 5, Pedulla 6, American Standard P, 64' Vintage Jazz, another Ric but a 4003, 1984 G&L El Toro (an amazing bass!!) and my most recent purchase a Squier Vintage Vintage Modified Bass VI which I've had for about a week now (Feb 2018).