1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Starting method work

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by orangereeco, Aug 18, 2012.

1. orangereeco

orangereeco

Mar 4, 2012
    Midland, MI
    I've been playing double bass for almost five years now as I am about to start my sophomore year of high school. I've never seriously worked out of any method book(although I do own the Simandl first edition) and I've been wondering if I should begin to seriously work out of one, be it Simandl, Nanny, or any other serious method book. I know my way around the fingerboard very well for I have been including solos as a main part of my practice regimen(Bottesini's Elegy being my current one), along with scales, etudes, and various orchestral excerpts. My teacher rarely has me work directly out of the Simandl book and I'm wondering if I should start to.
    I understand this may be a question to ask either my teacher or another personal instructor, but any responses are appreciated.

2. I am most familiar with Simandl and have a love-hate relationship. It gives an organised basis for logically learning the finger board, but in a very repetitive boring way, in its first 70 pages or so. Yet it does contain a lot of useful sections later that I must confess I did not dwell on for long as a student (neither did my teacher!). As a method Simandl leaves so much to the teacher and if the teacher is well organised and good there are much more inspiring paths to success. I could say the same for most of the other methods I have or have seen.