1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Starting on Double Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Bassplayer425, Nov 13, 2010.

1. Bassplayer425

Bassplayer425

Nov 9, 2010
    So, I have been playing viola in orchestra for many years, my High School Orchestra. I'm in Philharmonic, which is the second highest orchestra, and recently I told my orchestra teacher I want to switch to bass, b/c I really like bass, the sound, and I've played a little bit of Electric bass, and I love its role in the orchestra as well. So basically, and I most likely can't get a double bass before Monday, my orchestra teacher is going to give me a bass on Monday, which I can only use in class, and I'm wondering, is there any way I can get ready for it? Would having some experience with viola help me play bass perhaps? And will my orchestra teacher probably give me a cheat sheet for playing that day, because I'm going to hopefully start lessons this week, so very soon?

2. Brunot

Brunot

Oct 29, 2010
    Slovakia
    My friend was playing violin for 8th year, then he switched to double bass at conservatory. He said that he used some knowledge from violin, however, he said it was a fresh start more ;)

3. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    Find somebody who can give you a few lessons right away. Pronto.

But there are some significant differences in fingering and how you hold the bow. These are worth researching, but to give you a glimpse: