Starting on my first rig...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by johnm0187, Jul 15, 2004.

1. Ok. I'm going to start on my first rig soon. I only have about $500 so I am definently looking used.

I was thinking I could pick up an old Peavey Mark IV or any Peavey marks on eBay for pretty cheap like $150 or $200. And then possibly an Avatar cab of some sort. Is Peavey marks good for a starting rig? I currently have a pretty old peavey combo that I like the sound of. Will the sounds be similar?

I also saw a Behringer 3000T for around $200 would this be another good choice? And for a rig will I eventually need anything else? I'm pretty new to this whole idea so help me out. :bawl:

2. I have a Peavey Mark III (old one though, not one of the "newer" ones) and a Hartke 410VX as my first rig. Got it all for $400. The Peavey Mark heads are a good buy for sure.
  3. Rockbobmel

Rockbobmel Supporting Member

I got my Hartke HA3500 used for $270.
  4. i have the behringer bx3000t head it is actually pretty good and is pretty loud i also have the avatar 2x12 cab and i am planning on getting the 2x10 to throw on top of it.
  5. What's a reasonable price for the Peavey Marks, $150-$250? And how much should I spend on a cab? Should I go used?

6. Yeah, $150-$250 is a reasonable price on the Mark's. As for a cab, get used in good condition if you can. Might wanna search around on eBay or here on TB for an avatar cab or a hartke (vx or xl, try to stay away from transporter series, I haven't heard good things about them).
  7. Hope you don't mind me asking, but how much did you pay for your Mark III? You don't have to answer if you don't want.

8. I got it $150, but it's one of the really old models. It's 26 years old...
  9. leftseptember

Jun 26, 2003
    Chicago, IL