1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Still getting blisters...

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jjl5590, Apr 28, 2010.

1. jjl5590

jjl5590 Banned

Mar 28, 2008
    London, UK
    Hey guys,

I'm a semi-professional bassist, been playing for around 5 years or so. I play very aggressively using exclusively my fingers. The problem is, after every rehersal I walk away with a nice big blister forming on my middle finger on my plucking hand. I would have thought that after 5 years this would stop, but it hasn't. It's becoming a problem in gigs and I'm having to coat my finger with superglue during the breaks.

Does anyone have any suggestions to stop getting blisters?

thanks

2. Do you play with rounds? Before I put flats on I used rounds and after practicing for a while my fingers would hurt. I'd been playing guitar for 6 years and couldn't remember the last time my fingers hurt after playing. After I got some flats the pain from playing went away.

So try some flats I guess?

3. dutchwife

dutchwife

Aug 6, 2007
    Osaka, Japan
    Ever tried rubbing alcohol? Norman Watt-Roy showed me that particular trick years ago and I believe that he's still using it these days. Now there's a guy who digs in pretty hard....

4. Do you let the callus build up?

5. g&lplayer

g&lplayer

Feb 24, 2010
    Chicago
    Hey so I had the same problem for a really long time. There are actually a couple of solutions depending on your setup and playing style. Please don't get angry at me for the following though. I'm not judging you, i just had this problem for a good 5-6 years and I am going to give you a few of the reasons I had blisters.

SO, the list of reasons why I got blisters in the past: