Stingray advice

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by sanchorb, Sep 3, 2009.

1. sanchorb

sanchorb Inactive

Sep 25, 2007
    Hi all!! After many many years of procrastination, I´ve decided to come with some serious cash and get a Musicman Stingray. I am not a pro musician, but my regrets have been buried (LOL), don´t ask me how but they did, and you only live once. I would like to ask you experts a couple of questions, one for knowledge and another one being a really intrascendent one:

1) What is the difference between a Stingray and a Sterling? Is a Sterling smaller? I noticed that they are more expensive than a Stingray, so I would like to know why is that, if they are smaller, I would suppose that the monster Stingray would be the most expensive one.

2) The shallow question: What color? This drives me nuts, I see all the models and all seem beautiful to me.:rollno: I have a thing for maple fretboards, since I have never had a bass with such wood on it, but even with that constraint the choices are too much for me. I feel like a kid being pushed by the mom to decide what ice cream flavor one wants, while being in front of the chilled boxes at the ice cream parlor. I would love to see some of your Stingray colors, if it is possible, since colors on websites tend to be somewhat different from real life. Thank you all in advance, cheers mates.

2. Sten

Sten

Nov 18, 2001
    Estonia
    Sterling sounds a bit brighter. As they are both quite bright sounding, I do not think you would be missing that if you got a Stingray.

If I could choose any color I'd like, i'd get it translucent red, black pickguard and maple fretboard.

Here's a not very good picture of mine (translucent green, pearloid pickguard, maple fretboard), but at least it is in natural light:
    http://images.orkut.com/orkut/photos/OgAAAHpM_bfA1NLI_RBNbTug3K93XOyOzaRW1sUSpEH3BXk0yu3BFApsbJTBRAMSCNYHYcPHpDmWc9b_dtVl4Eib-LwAm1T1UMIW4WzUl4DIPKeGi_46ADahvYer.jpg

3. TheMutt

TheMutt Guest