1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

String reccomendations for drop C tuning.

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by BassNova, Oct 9, 2013.

1. BassNova

BassNova

Oct 9, 2013
    I am trying to attempt to play a song by August Burns Red that requires drop C tuning. I know very little information about the bass as an instrument, I'm just learning how to play it and I wanted to learn a new song. Anyhow, the problem I ran into is that when I tune my strings down that low, they flop around way too much. Specifically the E string, but I have the money to replace all of them. I have an Ibanez GSR200 with the original strings and they work fine for me when tuned at standard, but are just horrendous in drop C. I use a pick to play and the genre would be metal/metalcore. My bass has a sort of poppy sound when I strum on it and if possible I would like to keep that or maybe smooth it out if necessary. String reccomendations would be much appreciated.

2. BassNova

BassNova

Oct 9, 2013
    If I wasn't clear enough on what I said, the main thing I am looking for with a new set of strings is basically to have the same sound I have now, but with a thicker e-string so that I can tune it up to an E but be able to tune it down to a C without having to have it move around spastically.

3. JellinWellen

JellinWellen

Oct 18, 2012
    Texas
    You could try using a thicker gauge E, like a .110 or a .115. But if you are playing metalcore I would think you would need to tune for BEAD or get a 5 string bass. I don't know much about BEAD tuning but there's plenty of info here on it.

4. beobass

beobass

Nov 26, 2005
    CT
    DR makes a drop tuning specific string. Has a black widow spider on the package.

5. knuckle_head

knuckle_head Commercial User

Jul 30, 2002
    Seattle