Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Stringheight? Tech English Suck ;)

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by mist2, Aug 20, 2004.

1. mist2

mist2

Aug 20, 2004
    You'll have to excuse me, my bass-tech-english isn't what it should be :rollno: Help me out here! I'm a bassist from Sweden (Just regged at the forum btw). I got a boring Ibanez GSR 100. I'm buying an American Fender or Warwick (I might need help to choose between them later) once I get the cash! Meanwhile, I thought I'd fix my old gun. I don't like my strings... they're too hard and there are .... (tech english) metal hums when I hit the strings too hard. I figure it's because the strings are too close to the fretboard! Now we're getting close to my question :bassist:

I want to increase this height, between the strings and the fretboard. Now, how do I do this? I have nothing to go at. I don't know what it's called, so I'm sorry if there are threads about this issue. I hate doubleposts myself :help:

Can someone direct me for further information? Is it so simple I just put a metal plate under my bridge? I can add images off the bass if someone wants to help me later! =) Thank you for your time.

2. josh_m

josh_m

May 5, 2004
    Davie, Fl
    The saddles on the bridge are adjustable, just raise the height a little, if it still buzzes then you need to have it taken for a good set up.

3. Tim__x

Tim__x

Aug 13, 2002
    Alberta, Canada
    Just for reference, that "Metal Hum" is called "Fret buzz" or just "Buzz" and "String Height" is called "Action".

4. mist2

mist2

Aug 20, 2004