1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

strings for stingray 5?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by swivel_001, Sep 18, 2008.

1. swivel_001

swivel_001

Sep 10, 2008
    hey guys...
    im just wondering what kinda string is the best for stingray 5...
    im very new to this stainless steel and 'another' kinda of strings...

i also heard that different kinda strings will wear the fret faster? hmmm...

okay.. please recommend me a set of strings which i change!!

thanks!!

2. kyral210

kyral210

Sep 14, 2007
    Manchester
    Well, D'addario Pro Steel 5 string sets sound great, but they do eat your fret wire.

I play a 5 string bass, and I have found GHS Boomers (5 string) give great tone (much longer lasting than anyone else) at a low price and dont hurt your frets.

D'addario nickle wound are also good, but I am now a GHS Boomers player.

3. CElton

CElton I'm a new note finder...

Consider trying DR Hi Beams for Stainless Steel and DR Sunbeams for Nickle. I would suggest staying with the .130 B string.

4. dougjwray

dougjwray

Jul 20, 2005
    You beat me to it!
    I have a 5-string Stingray, and I like GHS Boomers on it MUCH better than anything else. (And they're nickel and thus won't eat the frets as quickly as steel.) (Gauges: 45, 65, 85, 105, 130)
    I think they're the best, for that bass. To my ears, they have more rich bottom and less strident mids than D'Addarios or DRs, so they complement the Music Man thing perfectly. (IMO.)

5. kirkm24

kirkm24

Jan 1, 2007
    Columbus, Ohio
    I would suggest DR Fat Beams for Stainless Steel or Sadowsky Nickels which have a tapered B string (it's a little more responsive and meaty than a non-tapered string).

6. kirkm24

kirkm24

Jan 1, 2007
    Columbus, Ohio