Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

"Take 5" from XL

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Hambone, Mar 20, 2004.

1. OK here's my rant.

This group has done something that, as a musician, I find hard to believe. They have taken the name of the Brubeck song and the signature opening lick from Paul Desmond and turned it into a looped, shallow, faded rendition of the DB original. And that's not the worst part - THEY PLAY THE ENTIRE THING IN 4!!?? :spit: Then they have the nerve to call it "smooth jazz" and foist it on the public.

This stinks in my book. It mocks the original, dumbs it down, and totally ignores the fact that the 5/4 beat was what made this tune go. It was a revelation in jazz at the time to have a jazz song in 5/4 - most said it couldn't be done. For XL to use the original name over this pile of crap is, IMO, intellectually dishonest and could probably be the basis of a suit. I wonder for instance, did they change the time signature to avoid paying royalties on the song? A TS change could conceivably alter the original enough to avoid a claim of plagiarism.

At any rate, it stinks and I wish newer artists had more respect for the greats than to do something like this.

2. nonsqtr

nonsqtr The emperor has no clothes!

Aug 29, 2003
    Burbank CA USA
    Maybe it qualifies as a "parody". That would be another way around the copyright laws. :)

3. lbanks

lbanks

Jul 17, 2003
    Ennui, IN USA
    I've heard so many screw up versions of 'Take 5' over the pass 35 years that another doesn't suprise me.

4. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    California
    I think it's a testament to bad musicianship. They're so bad, they have to play "Take 5" in common time!:D

5. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001
    Weak. :rolleyes:

6. ldiezman

ldiezman