TB500 cab suggestions.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Chris Summers, Oct 12, 2021 at 3:03 PM.

1. Chris Summers

Chris Summers

Tuesday
    Let me start by letting you know That I am new to playing bass, used to play guitar in a band so this is my first go around on the base. That being said I have a fundamental lack of knowledge when the concerns of bass gear comes into question but the respect and understanding that it is a rich and complicated instrument with a ridiculous amount of technical knowledge required to get tone and quality sound dialed in. So I apologize upfront for the fact that I know little to nothing we are about to discuss.

back story info: started playing bass for a Midwest hard-core band, think Every Time I Die, loud and nasty. They have been running a Behringer 200 W through an Ampeg 8 x 10 and pushing it to its absolute limit. Absolutely loud and horrible tone quality with zero clarity. I purchased a TB500 and plugged it into the Ampeg, got some decent clarity a little lack on the low end and definitely a huge difference in volume, much quieter now.

What the goal here is, is to get a cab or cabs which ever suits the purpose, to increase the volume and low end. After putting a quality bass head on that Ampeg it’s become very clear that this road worn cab is not what it used to be.

my thoughts were to get an OBC 115 and plug a speakon into it and another speakon into the Ampeg (500w by 4ohms should do the trick right). My thoughts are that the OBC 115 will carry a nice clear low end while the top half of the Ampeg 8 x 10 will deliver some clean higher end. That being said I honestly have no idea what the hell I’m talking about.