1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tele body bass - My first build

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by BassShifter21, Mar 17, 2009.

1. Greetings all!
    This is my first build. I hope you like it!

I had wanted to build my own bass for some time, I just needed inspiration. Believe it or not, the body for this bass was found in the trash by a friend on mine. He thought I might fashion a clock out of it, but oh, no. This is way better!
    IMG_0048.
    Here is what I started with:
    IMG_0052.
    The first thing I did was to remove the black plastic position markers and replace them with blue abalone inlays.
    IMG_0055.
    IMG_0057.
    IMG_0062.
    Then, I discovered that the tuners that I has found on eBay has a smaller shaft than the holes in the headstock, so I plugged them with dowels and re-drilled them.
    IMG_0064.
    IMG_0066.
    IMG_0067.
    IMG_0070.
    IMG_0073.
    IMG_0108.
    Laying out and fabricating my router template.
    IMG_0141.
    IMG_0142.
    IMG_0143.
    First mock up with parts laid out where they will go.
    IMG_0104.

More to follow:hyper:

2. jordan_frerichs

jordan_frerichs

Jan 20, 2008
    Nebraska
    how did you remove the dots? amazing so far

3. Darkstrike

Darkstrike Return Of The King!

Sep 14, 2007
    You drill through the center, and pop 'em out with something pointy.

Love it so far, is it shortscale?

4. tdogg

tdogg

Jan 17, 2001
    Brooklyn Park, MN
    this thing is screaming for an old school chrome bridge cover

5. :O I love it!
    I tinkered with the though of making one, and I'm seriously tempted now!
    BTW, will you actually be able to use the neck pickup if its for guitar?

6. Thank you. It is a 34" scale, and believe it or not, there is no neck dive to speak of. Very comfortable to play. Stand by for more!

7. Ooohhh........didn't think of that!!!!!!!

8. Go for it!