1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

The H P Lovecraft & Music Thread

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Spectrum, Jul 1, 2014.

1. A silly argument thread about drone metal led to Lovecraft references, so let's forget the sill argument part and discuss this.

This is important.

I am currently working my way through "Dreams of Terror and Death: The Dream Cycle of H P Lovecraft". I've never read any Lovecraft until now, and I have to say that while it's a bit slow-going at times, it's awesome. Someday I'll get around to the Cthulu stuff.

I'm new to drone metal, but Lovecraft seems to go well with doom metal and other stuff. FIrst thing that comes to mind is Witch Hunt by Rush, which REALLY creeped me out the first time I heard it growing up. That part at the beginning where Neil is playing the chimes and all of the sudden gets "posessed"...listening to that in good headphones in the dark is awesome.

Art, too. Let's talk about art. Cover art or otherwise.

The artwork on the book I'm reading is by John Jude Palancar. I looked him up.

[​IMG]

Hypocrite and somegeezer like this.
  2. nukes_da_bass

nukes_da_bass Banned

Feb 19, 2006
    west suburban boston
    Cthulu rules.

3. somegeezer

somegeezer

Oct 1, 2009
    England
    I'm glad someone started this thread!

I really pushed myself into reading some Lovecraft after listening to some Septicflesh. Their stories are influenced by Lovecraft, and some are direct representations. They have much more orchestral and standard Death Metal sound to really get it down for me as Lovecraftian. But definitely some great elements.
    and still one of my favourite bands in general.

I think the first story I read was The Nameless City. Wonderful, but short read.