1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

The right beginer stand up bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by KLEIN, Apr 9, 2009.

1. KLEIN

KLEIN

Apr 4, 2009
    Lakewood CA
    Endorsing: Schecter Basses
    I have been playing the electric bass for 17+ years, and am looking for a good beginer bass. Do I really have to pay 1000 plus dollars for one?

2. lots of people have asked (including me) and it seems like if you buy a Bass < 1000 that you will end up spending a TON of money getting it setup for it to be playable. Most people say get an old Kay, an Englehardt, or an Upton.

3. John Sprague

John Sprague Sam Shen's US Distributor

Mar 10, 2003
    Rochester, NY
    Sales Manager, CSC Products Inc.
    Klein, there are a handful of new models that tend to run around 1500 shmooks that most folks here give the OK on, and you can find them in the newbie links.

The other option is to mount a Fuqua Offensive, by letting every friend, relative, co-worker and their sister know that you are looking for a bass, and you may luck out when someone remembers Grand Dad's old bass and lets it go cheap.

The new basses under a thousand aren't really basses.

4. mesmithnm

mesmithnm

Dec 10, 2005
    Layton, UT
    One of the few options you have under a thousand that will get you a playable bass is to go with a quality used Chinese laminate - here's an example

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=531880

As you see, the price was right and it didn't last long - and this is one of those $1500 basses purchased new. So be patient and do your research now so you'll know which one of these deals is a good one when one shows up.

Good luck,

Mark

5. Shovelbone

Shovelbone Supporting Member

Oct 18, 2007
    Yonderville Georgia