Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Theory..time to get started, help please!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by yoshi, Jul 12, 2005.

1. yoshi

yoshi

Jul 12, 2002
    England, London
    I've been playing bass for about 4 years now and know next to nothing in respect to theory - I know a few scale shapes but nothing beyond that really.

In a ploy to get going with theory I grabbed my beginner book (the one I bought 4 and a bit years ago). I followed through the cycle of fifths part and after 2 or 3 days was left with the 'knowledge' of it, but also a sense of frustration in respect to how useless it - or I - seemed...I mean, what the hell is it for? what's it's potential? what's my potential once I know it?! The same feelings go towards any other theory in the book.

Apologies for sounding stupid, but I'm really clueless at theory and need to be guided in the right direction..probably kicking and screaming ;)

2. It'll help you understand music more. Think of it like any other language, because that's basically what music is, a language. You can learn how to speak English, converse with people, and get by well enough without formal training. However, you wont know how to write in English, or even the correct rules and methods of speaking it properly. So think of good music theory as proper grammar for your musical expressions.

3. First of all, it's not necessary to know a bit of theory to make good music. It does help, for a few reasons.

At the most universally applicable level, it will allow you to easily write down any music you compose, and make it easier to read music.