1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TI flats

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Silas Stingy, May 5, 2015.

1. Silas Stingy

Silas Stingy

Feb 19, 2009
    U.K
    I just installed my first set of Thomastik flats. This was all done in the usual way, avoid twisting and stretching etc. I've found the G is completely dead and the A has a horrible rattle somewhere around the nut, this is not fret buzz as I've adjusted truss and setup to suit the lower tension. I've been running D'addario chromes for many years without a single problem. Did I get a bad set? Any advice?

2. SLaPiNFuNK

SLaPiNFuNK Commercial User

Jul 28, 2006
    LA California
    The Brains: FretNation.com
    Is there a good break angle on the A string behind the nut?

Coolhandjjl likes this.
  3. Silas Stingy

Silas Stingy

Feb 19, 2009
    U.K
    Yes the angle is good, just slightly lower than the D and G.

4. Pier_

Pier_

Dec 22, 2013
    Roma, Italia
    if you touch (not press hard) the string after the nut, and play it, does the rattle disappear? if the answer is "yes", probably it's just the nut slot too big for the string. you can use some glue to recreate it and then sand it to a right measure. the A is a .070, is small. if you come from a .080 or .085 is normal.

Silas Stingy likes this.
  5. Klonk

Klonk

Apr 28, 2011
    Norway
    Indeed, what Pier said above. In addition I'd mention what Pier said in another thread about TIs, it is a low tension string, even within the TI JF344 set, so I'd test with slightly higher action than the other strings in the set too. The G string will mellow while the other strings break in, so in a month or two they will sound great, IME.

Silas Stingy likes this.
  6. Silas Stingy

Silas Stingy

Feb 19, 2009
    U.K