Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Tips for memorizing jazz charts?

Discussion in 'Music [DB]' started by WillBuckingham, Oct 27, 2005.

1. WillBuckingham

WillBuckingham

Mar 30, 2005
    Does anyone have any advice on committing standards to memory?

This is always a slow process for me, and even on tunes that I know really well, my lines are not as good as when I have the chart in front of me.

2. TroyK

TroyK Moderator Staff Member

Mar 14, 2003
    Seattle, WA
    I'm not an expert on it, but here's how I was taught.

Learn the melody
    Arpeggiate the changes
    Play the roots and sing the melody
    Play the melody and sing the roots
    Walk the changes

Repeat in at least one other key.

On top of that, for me it's somewhat mental. Once I've played it on the stand without a chart, I know I can do it and I'm usually good. Until I do, I always doubt. If have the chart out, just in case, I end up glued to it.

Hope that helps.

Troy

3. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member

Mar 16, 2004
    San Francisco, CA
    +1. Also, I like to put on my favorite version of the tune and keep playing it til I get sick of it. After that comes doing all of what KeyKen said but away from the instrument by singing/humming it all. After a while I'll be able sing a solo over that while still hearing the changes in my head.

Yeah, I have alot of voices going on upstairs. :D

4. Take a standard & play it in 3 or 4 different keys. You'll memorize the progressions (ii V I's, etc.) not the chord changes. It will commit to memory real quick that way.... Or maybe I've worked with too many singers :crying: I can't even remember standard keys anymore! Try playing Stella By Starlight in Eb or G live & on the fly! That will bring tears to your eyes :bawl:

5. Chrix

Chrix

Apr 9, 2004
    Brooklyn