1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tips for Recording Bass

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by ComeHomeShane, May 23, 2020.

1. ComeHomeShane

ComeHomeShane Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2016
    Southern California
    I'm having two specific problems that I can't figure out, but I'm open to suggestions in general. First I'll give you some background info, what I'm using, etc...

At the beginning of the quarantine I bought a Presonus Audiobox iTwo to start recording at home. Even though I've been playing bass for a while, I'm a total newb to using DAWs. However, I am familiar with the recording process due to many years of sessions in friend's studios. My go to bass is a G&L JB strung with NYXL 45-95s. To gig (and now in my super amateur home studio) I play through a Thunderfunk 800B. Due to some fancy electronic work that I don't understand that Dave Funk did to his amps, I'm able to record direct from the head to the interface without a cabinet. My typical tone uses both pick-ups at 10 with tone at 10 while using an average mid scoop on the head. If I'm feeling gritty I'll add low mids. Lastly, I do not know a ton about frequencies, recording, DAWs, etc... So you aficionados out there might need to simplify things for me.

The problems I'm having:

1. I can't get rid of the transient noises from fret contact with the strings. I hear every little contact between the string and frets on both the press down and the lift up. However, I don't have a problem with string/slide noise. When I gig live, I typically get rid of transients and string noise by cutting in the 500-800hz range. However, when recording if I make a cut at that range it doesn't get rid of that tapping sound from frets. If I starting cutting all the upper frequencies it hides that fret tapping sound, but totally obliterates my tone.