1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TLA 5051 preamp

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Sparkl, Jul 9, 2019.

1. Sparkl

Sparkl

Apr 23, 2011
    Europe
    Hey guys!

This thread is hopefully more a motivator for people than anything else.

So my story is as follows:

I am a professional bass player and I mostly gig around and occasionally teach upright and bass in music schools.

2 years ago I finally found a hobby to replace my primary hobby which was playing bass before (you know, the kind of hobby to relieve from work stress). I found studio recording to be my happy heaven. I simply enjoy tweaking the knobs and producing something that sounds pleasant to my ears.

Started mixing live gigs (brought my recording gear to the gig, took all channels and started mixing at home), recording stuff at my small studio, bought recording gear, bought logic pro, yamaha hs8 etc.

Thing is, all of my mixes and especially recordings sounded really thin and muddy when I listened to them on other sound systems, especially the bigger ones.

My biggest challenge was to separate drums and bass so that they both have weight and clarity. You know what I mean :)

So I kind of got into a depressive state because everything I did with the plugins (pro logic stock ones) it didn't improve things much "weight-wise". I could alter characters, true, but for the love of god I couldn't do anything impressive to my ears by mixing my recordings recorded straight into my Focusrite 8i6 Scarlett. I went through countless tutorials on how to mix, how to do it, and it just didn't work. Started thinking my ears and understanding of studio business are severely lacking even though I tweaked every plugin in my Logic for hundreds of hours.