Too much speaker for DB?

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by FidgetStone, Nov 9, 2003.

1. FidgetStone

Jun 30, 2002
    Allen, TX
    I have been renting a plywood DB of unknown origin for three months and love it. I now think about DB almost as much as a teenage boy thinks about girls. I bought a K&K BassMax from Bob G. which I use in a mostly rock style praise band. This particular band does not lend itself to DB really but they are great people and I think that things are evolving to a more DB friendly format over time.

My situation is this: I have a great EB rig which is the classic Ampeg SVT-300 tube amp with an Ampeg 4x10 cabinet. It sounds great with the MusicMan electric but pretty bad with the DB. I have to use the graphic equalizer and take out almost all of the low end to get any volume at all. Even then in sounds pretty bad and I can't get enough volume to be heard along with the guitar army and keyboards. I always have the amp volume as high as it will go without the UMMMMMMM . . . feedback but the bass disappears as soon as the rest of the band kicks in.

I'm sure that many of you know how frustrating it is to not be able to hear yourself play in a live situation.

My questions is this: could I get better sound and / or higher volume with a smaller cabinet or smaller combo amp? I've read a lot of the newbie stuff already and would appreciate your opinions and experiences.

Thanks . . . Jim Watkins
  2. I have been trying to get a sound that I love for years now. I will settle on something for a while, then my concept of what i would like my sound to be evolves or mutates in some way. I think it is a continual process of improvement.

There is oodles of info in past threads here as far as equipment - pickups, preamps, heads, cabs, combos. Also good info on volume playing at