1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Transcription

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Chrispurchase, Sep 5, 2008.

1. Chrispurchase

Chrispurchase

Oct 24, 2007
    Hi,
    I've been playing for a couple years now and I'm pretty happy with my theory knowledge and technique, but recently I have started to jam with other musicians and i have noticed that my ear isn't really as good as it should be...

I've been using Auralia for interval recognition, rhythmic & melodic dictation and do well on them but it doesn't seem to be assisting with the jam sessions.

I'd really like to start doing some transcription but don't know quite where to start with it. How do you transcribe and any easy songs that you'd recommend?

Thanks for all the help....

Chris

2. BassChuck

BassChuck Supporting Member

Nov 15, 2005
    Cincinnati
    You can transcribe anything you like, it doesn't have to be a bass line. If you need something really basic do nursery rhyme songs, or old church hymns, folk songs... anything with a melody that is easy to sing (and singing does help). The more you do the better and faster you'll get.

Interval recognition is a good place to start, but when you really get going you'll know the sound without thinking of the name of the interval (just like you don't think of how words are spelled when you are talking with someone).

It may take some time. Be as patient with yourself as you would be if you were teaching a loved one.