1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

transfer auditions

Discussion in 'Orchestral Auditions [DB]' started by DoubleIanBass11, Oct 6, 2010.

1. DoubleIanBass11

DoubleIanBass11

Oct 6, 2010
    hello, i am a first year student at a smaller university and I'm looking to transfer to an actual music school/conservatory. would you say that the odds of my acceptance into the program are lower because I'd be a transfer student? My top two choices are Curtis and Peabody (I know two of the top schools) I just want realistic answers.

2. mdwallace

mdwallace

Apr 1, 2010
    New York City
    I seriously doubt that your odds of acceptance will be affected by having done a year of college already. If anything, it seems to me to only be a positive thing, for both you and the school.

While you look into going this route, keep in mind that music school admission is mostly based on your audition. Depending on the school, it probably ranges from 75%-99.9% based on your audition, so make that a priority. Good luck!

3. Andrew Hamilton

Andrew Hamilton Guest

Apr 18, 2010
    It is my understanding that it is extremely difficult to gain acceptance to Curtis as a transfer student...well I should say even more difficult. I'm sure that it's possible, but I've never heard of it happening.

4. Magneto_Man

Magneto_Man

Apr 19, 2010
    Boston, MA
    a few years ago a guy from colburn transfered to curtis

5. PaulCannon

PaulCannon

Jan 24, 2002
    Frankfurt, Germany
    NS Design Endorsing Artist
    Many, many Curtis students have been transfers or took the audition multiple times. You should ask Hal Robinson directly for clarification, but I don't believe transfer status has any bearing on the audition results.