1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Using an Epifani PS-100 for Punk?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by breakHARD77, May 6, 2010.

1. breakHARD77

breakHARD77

May 6, 2010
    Hi everyone. I've been playing bass for about 5 years on the same old Peavy combo amp, and it finally died on me the other day. I've heard a lot of great things about Epifani heads, and it turns out that there's a guy selling his PS-100 at a good price about an hour away from me.

Now, my question is this: would this be a feasible head to use for punk rock music? I play in the vein of Blink-182, Paramore, etc., and I've often seen Epifanis characterized as being more for jazz or pop.

Also, if you do think this head will work with my style of music, do you have any recommendations on what cabs I should get? I'm not trying to break the bank, but I will be playing at relatively large shows. Thanks for your time, guys. :)

2. You'll need to add distortion if that's what you want with a pedal or effects.

3. breakHARD77

breakHARD77

May 6, 2010
    Wow! Talk about a quick response!

I've checked previous threads here on TB, and many people seem to be endorsing different types of Ampeg SVTs. I also play a little bit for my church worship band, so a nice jazzy tone would be nice to have on the side. With that in mind, do you think it'd be better for me to get the Ampeg SVT Pro 3 (or something similar) or to just go ahead and get the PS-100 with a distortion pedal?

Thanks again for the quick answer!

4. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    not being familiar with the head i have to ask how many watts it puts out at the various impedances, is it stereo or mono (only matters in more watts and ability to bridge).

How loud do you want to get and how many cabs are you willing to cart?