1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Verry Basic Questions

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Dano59, Mar 17, 2009.

1. Dano59

Dano59 Supporting Member

Jan 14, 2009
    Charleston Illinois
    I am just getting started and have been reading a lot and have a couple questions that seam to get talked around a lot if you know what I mean.

1, Let's say a song is in A, in a 1-4-5 progression that would make it A-D-E.
    Am I right that the root people talk about playing is the A or D or E when the song is in that key?

2. If that is the case...
    Does that mean you "could" just play that root note with proper rythem and timming and sound ok?

3. Can you play just about any note in the scale of the root to add musical quality to the song?

4. Is that what walking bass lines are made up of, notes in the scaleb of the root?

5. When people talk about playing the root and 5 or another says they play the 3 a lot with the root, are they talking about the 5th or 3rd note of the scale pattern?

Thanks in advance for the help.

God bless

2. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2008
    Central Illinois, USA
    1. Yep, if the chords are A, D, and E, the root of those chords are A, D, and E. The root is the note that gives the chord its name.

2. You could just play the roots with the right time ("rhythm") and sound OK. Sometimes that's ALL that's needed, sometimes it'll sound kinda lame, but even then it's a great place to start.