Walking jazz basslines?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Exploding Boy, Nov 20, 2003.

1. Exploding Boy

Exploding Boy

Oct 30, 2003
    Even if they are generic, does anyone have a site or somewhere that has some jazz basslines?
  2. I would go out and buy some records.

When I started learning how to walk, I made a tape of 12-13 songs and just went at it over and over. Get some stuff w/Paul Chambers...I liked the way he 'connects the dots'. Check out 'Monk's Music' (great drumming by Art Blakey too!), all of the Miles 1st quintet stuff (Workin, Cookin', Relaxin', and Steamin')...and Kind of Blue of course.

Also at jazzbooks.com you can get some playalong CDs with books that chart out the songs. That was, and still is, invaluable to me. Good ones are #15 Paying Dues (Ron Carter basslines), #25 All Time Standards, #40 Round Midnight.

hope that helps
  3. cassanova

Sep 4, 2000
    Instead of ripping off other peoples lines why not take the time to learn how to create your own. There are several good books on the market that can teach you the skills you need to create fully functional working walking basslines.

See the problem with learning someone elses lines, is that you learn thier line and dont know the thought process behind it, what makes it work the way it does, etc. Learning the skills to create your own puts you one step a head of the game and arms you with knowledge that will allow you to create a line in ANY style of music.

Some decent Titles are:

Building Walking Basslines
    Expanding Walking Basslines
    Jazz Bass

All books listed are written by Ed Friedland.
  4. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification