Warm Tones

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bullitt, Feb 13, 2004.

1. Bullitt

Feb 12, 2004
    Central Indiana
    First off, I am new here and thanks for letting me be a part. I have learned alot here already. I knew all my notes and locations from 20 years ago but I am now trying to learn to play and I am studying theory. Wish I had not stopped playing years ago.
    Now, I have 4 kids so I bought some cheap gear. The tax check will be coming soon and I want to upgrade both my bass and amp. I want the warmest tone that I can get and I was wondering if the bass or the amp contributes the most to getting the warmest tone possible? What is the best bass in the $500 range that I could get? Thanks for any help
  2. warm? easy. Fender P but if you want versitility maybe check out the jazz.
  3. bluemonk

Dec 17, 2002
    I wouldn't call the P-bass warm particularly. I'd get something with Bartolini pickups. They make a Dean Edge with Bartolonis that is very warm. :cool:
  4. The warmest bass I've played is the Epiphone Jack Casady. http://www.jackcasady.com/epiphone.htm

It has a sound that is so warm, you really have to hear one first hand to appreciate it. At about $835 new w/case, it is out of your price range, but I've heard about them coming up on e-bay in the $500 range. While you can use any bass for any type of music, I feel the Casady bass is best suited to C&W, Bluegrass, Grateful Dead, Motown and Beach Boys type stuff.

Yes, I own one. ;)

Welcome back to playing, Bullitt :bassist:

5. jammadave

jammadave Rudderless ship Supporting Member

Oct 15, 2003
    Wash DC metro area
    gonna go out on a limb here and say try to find a Gibson Thunderbird. They're 1500 bucks new, but used may yield some good options, as may even going the Epiphone route - epi's getting better by the year it seems. Either way, the passive buckers and mahogany body are sweet and rife with warmth.