1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Was Jimmy Page a good bassist?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Skel, Nov 28, 2006.

1. Skel

Skel

Jun 19, 2005
    Boulder, Colorado
    Sorry if this topic has been discussed already but a fresh conversation about it can't be too bad. I know Jimmy Page played bass in "The Yardbirds", but I have no knowledge about his equipment, technique, ability, etc. I assume he was the typical "guitar player playing bass", using a pick, a Fender Precision, and whatever amp he could get his hands on, playing "OK" bass.

He had to be blown away when he hooked up with JPJ! I realize he already knew JPJ from doing earlier studio work with him.

Off topic kind of; A long time ago I read something where Plant (I think) was really worried that this newly recruited bass player (JPJ) was going to look like a professor, with a beard and smoking a pipe. That is so funny! I wonder what the outcome would have been if JPJ really did look wrong, but still had is genius ability. Back then looks really mattered.

2. dougjwray

dougjwray

Jul 20, 2005
    Interesting question. I'm not sure there's any recorded Yardbirds material with Page on bass. There's that one scene in the film "Blow Up" featuring them playing in a club (Beck smashes his guitar)... but I can't remember whether Page is playing bass or guitar.
    As far as Robert Plant and John Paul Jones, to me the question is this: How did Jones, the seasoned studio guy, feel about being in a band with a peacock poser who couldn't sing?

(Uh oh-- I know I'll be getting death threats for that one!)
    :ninja:

3. VanillaO

VanillaO Poop?

Oct 14, 2006
    Toronto, Canada
    ^Yes sir you will haha

4. RareBear

RareBear

Oct 30, 2006
    Before the barrage starts, count me in ony your team. I loath everything about Plant.