ways to improve timing

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by sadfan82, Dec 28, 2007.

1. sadfan82

sadfan82

Dec 28, 2007
    Hello
    I have been playing bass for about 4 years now and had lessons since I started. One thing I'm having difficulties with is improving my timing. It's not bad by any means, but it's not great either. Everyone says "PRACTICE WITH A MET" but when I'm playing I don't notice when I'm not totally locked in at times, I can only tell when I hear recordings of myself so I'm not sure how practicing with a met would help when I don't realize what I'm doing. What do you guy recommend doing to improving timing?

2. the_fooj

the_fooj

Feb 15, 2007
    Chevy Chase, MD
    Well if you're noticing you having trouble when you have the metronome, then slow it down until you're rock solid and then bit by bit speed it up. You also said you noticed your timing issues on recordings. Recording yourself is one of the best things you can do to figure out your flaws (even is that's not the intent of the recording). Learning to play to a click or locking in with a drum track and then listening to it will do wonders.

3. Hawaii Islander

Hawaii Islander Supporting Member

Aug 11, 2007
    Rio Rico, AZ
    I started using my metronome thats built into my Line6 GearBox software. Its cool because I can easily change tempo and the types of beats and their combos (kick drum, toms, snare, high hat, etc), which helps to vary what I'm playing with. My Riffworks recording software also has a drum machine/metronome so I can record what I play with the metronome and get immediate feedback on my timing. This is all done through my computer.

4. Agilulfo

Agilulfo

Nov 14, 2007
    South Orange, NJ
    Question: what do you listen for when you are playing with a drummer?

5. Dbassmon

Dbassmon

Oct 2, 2004
    Rutherford, NJ