Weird post gig interactions

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by Verb the Noun, Aug 1, 2018.

1. Verb the Noun

Verb the Noun

Aug 1, 2018
    San Diego
    I was an aspiring musician back in the day, and have recently jumped back into the game. One odd thing that has consistently happened to me is weird interactions with people after gigs. I must be a magnet for it despite being 6'2" and rocking an unintentional resting biotch face. Sober people leave me alone, drunk people are somehow drawn to me.

Back in the day my most memorable stories were stuff like having bands trying to recruit me (this happened several times) literally in front of my band mates. Getting hit on in front of my former wife but ONLY when she was there, no play when I was solo. Having people telling me what type of cover songs we should be playing (we were an original band) was common. The situations varied but it became a running joke and my band mates would watch to see who accosted me after each show.

Fast forward 18 years and I am back in a band. Joined up with a talented group of local guys in SD called Murder of Five, an original hard rock outfit in my age range.They were very selective, and it felt like I was participating in a season of the bachelor. The callback rehearsals went on for a couple months, but I finally got the job. 3 weeks after being officially named MoF's bass player we got a call asking if we could fill a cancellation slot at the House of Blues. My first show in 18 years was in front of 400ish people a week later. Weeeeeeee!

As expected... I picked up right where I left off with the weird interactions. Mid gig I noticed a guy I did not recognize standing in the crowd on my side of the stage staring laser beams at me. He was not bobbing in time to the music, just staring at me. Band finishes set, next band is playing and I'm in crowd watching them. I feel a tap on my shoulder... It's the dude.