Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

what a day!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Freeloader, Jan 28, 2005.

1. Freeloader

Freeloader

Dec 30, 2004
    hey guys,
    yesterday was totally amazing for me.
    jonas hellborg brought down drummer gary husband and guitarist steve topping to a local club and they put up one of the most awesome performances i have ever witnessed. being part of my city's tiny music fraternity, i was able to go down with my buddy, who was providing his drum set for the gig and hang around there for several hours.
    gary husband is so incredibly humble. i was truly amazed to see how friendly and down-to-earth he is. as a drummer, i've been in awe of his playing for several years and have also looked up to him as one of my many influences. it was so great to be able to speak to him.... he talked about his tour with matt garrison on bass, and also the mondesir bros. trio he has and he also mentioned that mclaughlin will soon be touring with him and the mondesir brothers.... imagine how cool that will be! only, he plays keyboards in that band. anyway, jonas hellborg walked in to soundcheck, and everyone immediately noticed him. there's just something about him, his attitude. he was using a super-cool looking status graphite bass.... however, it wasn't the same one they have on their website... this certainly wasn't a hollow body bass, and it had two pickups, one right at the bridge and another near the neck.... cool looking thing. steve topping was using a brian moore guitar that had a lot of knobs and i'm guessing its an active guitar. unlike gary husband, its not easy to go up and talk to hellborg. he'll usually give you a very confusing answer and most of the time he doesn't seem like he's too keen to make conversation. he was SMOKING yesterday though. he played some INSANE stuff that left my jaws on the floor. gary husband t