What am I missing about GK?

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by JimmyM, Jun 6, 2005.

1. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I hear so many upright bassists rave about GK amps. I just started playing upright 3 months ago, but I've played electric for years and years. I do a lot of fly dates, and for some reason backline companies misinterpret where it says in my rider "Ampeg SVT Classic with 8 x 10" cabinet" and bring me a GK amp with a Hartke 4 x 10". And I'm sorry, but I think GK amps sound so cold and sterile. It doesn't help being plugged into a Hartke, but even when they're in a good speaker, they still sound sterile to me.

My own amp is an SWR SM-500 through an old Tube Works 4 x 10" (I would still use an SVT if I didn't have to move it myself), and it totally blows away any GK amps I've ever played. Yet tons of DB'ers use them for all kinds of music. Why do they work for you folks who use them? What makes them so good for upright yet so cold-sounding for electric?
  2. larry

larry Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2004
    Another SWR user for DB! Great amp. I have a Gary Peacock video where he's using one with a Baby Blue extension cab. I use an SM900; used to use a Baby Blue, now I have Bergantino cabs. The SM500 & SM900 are great heads for upright, IMO, but a little too heavy. I'm saving for an Acoustic Image head to go with my Bergies.

PS: I've never owned the GK, but I know plenty of guys with them and they sound good to me in the audience.
  3. fsanfili

Feb 5, 2004
    Los Angeles
    1. They're light. It's no problem to cary the combo amp and upright at the same time.

2. They don't sound too bad if you bypass the preamp. If you do use the built in preamp, don't bother with their little tone-shaping dohickeys and limiter.

3. They're light.