what bass amp should I get?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by spacedogsy, Feb 5, 2020.

1. spacedogsy

spacedogsy

Feb 5, 2020
    hi all,

I'm planning to get started with a bass guitar as a complete beginner. So far I've been playing an acoustic guitar for about 8 months (quite intensively tho, for more than 2 hours every single day approximately), but I can say I've never really played a bass guitar before, apart from a little bit of pluckiddy pluck pluck's I've done in a local music store to try out how the different bass guitars really feel on my hands.

Anyway, the problem I've got here is that I have absolutely no idea what sort of amp I should get. I didn't even know that they'd cost me this much amount of money considering that the cheapest ones will cost you what, about 100€? I just don't wanna have a go without a consideration and waste it all at the end. I've been in a few local music stores to have a look, but the ones they've got are just too advanced for me I reckon (assuming by their price tags varying from 450€ - 700€). To make it a bit easier for you guys to give me any sort of recommendation, I wouldn't wanna pay more than 250€, that's where I drew a line. I think I would mainly play funk and a bit of rock (that filthy slap sound has made me buy a sterling sub ray 4 as my first bass), and it really doesn't have to be loud cause I live in a shared flat with my mates and our neighbours who live just across the street are quite sensitive for a german standard, I gotta say. Also, there will be a number of occasions where I'd have no time at all during a day and would have to practice at night so that little AUX thing to connect it with my headphone would be quite important for me as well. Overall, I just want my amp to sound a bit clearer than the other models around its own price range, if indeed there's any difference you can tell. Any kinds of recommendation or a word of advice or two will be much appreciated! cheers