1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What bass should I get?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Riley09195, Jan 11, 2019.

1. Riley09195

Riley09195

Jan 11, 2019
    I am a high school student and am fairly serious about playing the bass. I want to buy my own bass, which is something I should have bought years ago. However I’m hella broke and basses are not cheap. I want to stay below 2750 ideally and want something that will sound good for primarily orchestral playing. I would also prefer not to get a laminate bass simply because I don’t like the tone/quality of most of them, however if I’m not completely against it if it has a nice sound. Are there any bass recommendations? I am also open to buying a used one.

Last edited: Jan 11, 2019
  2. A Shen hybrid or low-dollar carved model such as the Willow flatback. Where are you located?

3. Riley09195

Riley09195

Jan 11, 2019
    I’m in the Bay Area in California

4. james condino

james condino Spruce dork Supporting Member Commercial User

Sep 30, 2007
    asheville, nc
    Patience will reward you far beyond your wildest expectations and a hasty purchase may leave you penniless with an embarrassing piece of junk self destructing Chinese bass shaped object .....

Ross Kratter likes this.
  5. Kickdrum

Kickdrum

Jul 17, 2011
    A String Emporium carved bass could work for you. Check them out. I think I remember them being around that price when I was doing lots of research for my first double bass/upright bass about two years ago and they kept coming up as a solid option as I read around the internet. I’ve bought other items from String Emporium since then. For me, I eventually ended up going with an Upton Brescian Hybrid and I’m very very happy.

Ross Kratter likes this.
  6. Go see Steve Swan.

7. tumbo