What cab for Ampeg BA 210 v2

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Hevy T, Nov 12, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Hevy T

Hevy T Supporting Member

Jan 11, 2011
    Lethbridge, AB Canada
    What cabinets are a good match for this amp?

I have a 300 watt traynor at 8 ohm or is this too powerful for the external option

2. brbadg

brbadg

Nov 10, 2006
    Timonium,Maryland
    Doesn't it say external speaker out 8 ohm on the back?

3. Hevy T

Hevy T Supporting Member

Jan 11, 2011
    Lethbridge, AB Canada
    Yeah, I am wondering about wattage, considering in a head and cab situation you should have more wattage in the head than cab! I assume the same holds true here.

Tell the truth I've been playing since 1980 and have always thought the opposite till I've been corrected recently

4. Hevy T

Hevy T Supporting Member

Jan 11, 2011
    Lethbridge, AB Canada
    Bump

5. kiat

kiat

Aug 31, 2010
    Mons, Belgium
    I've been wondering the same thing as I'm in the market for a powerful combo that can take a cab for bigger rooms. No expert, so looked up the manual - http://www.ampeg.com/pdf/manuals/BA_OM.pdf

The schematics show the internal 2 x 10" speakers are rated 16Ω each, in parallel, so that's 8Ω. Adding another 8Ω in parallel (nothing lower that that, eg 4Ω or 2Ω, is rated safe), would bring the total resistance to 4Ω which would be able to take the full 450W (I guess minus power taken by the tweeter).

When I've got the readies, I'll be get an 8Ω cab for it - anyone who's done it, mind sharing their experiences?

6. BassmanPaul

BassmanPaul Inactive

OP, having checked the on-line manual, you can add an 8Ω extension so you’ll be fine connecting the Traynor cabinet. How the pairing will sound is what you’ll have to tell us! :)

Canada is a big country - where you at? :D

Last edited: Dec 15, 2016
    kiat likes this.
  7. kiat

kiat

Aug 31, 2010
    Mons, Belgium