1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What Effects?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by argoed, Oct 17, 2006.

1. Hi all,

This is my first post so please be gentle with me.

I am 50 years old and have been playing bass guitar in a new classic rock covers band for the past four months. I have been playing guitar and bass since I was twelve years old but have never been in a band before. We haven't played any gigs yet as we are still rehearsing and getting sufficient material together for a two hour show.

The band consists of me, one guitarist, a vocalist and a drummer, but I am concerned that we sound a bit 'thin', especially when the guitarist breaks off to do a solo.

My question is whether there are any effects that will give my bass more background 'presence' than it actually has. I was thinking about a chorus or octaver pedal, but any other suggestions would be appreciated.

I play a cheap Crafter four string passive bass guitar (which looks, feels and sounds absolutely great) and have fitted this with Fender flatwound strings. I use an Aphex Bass XCiter and a DI box/splitter. The bass goes straight into the mixer and a lead goes from the splitter into a Behringer 120W bass combo which acts as my stage monitor.

Any advice gratefully appreciated.

Thanks.

2. excane

excane Inactive

Aug 23, 2005
    New York, NY
    Welcome to TB.

I usually step on overdrive or fuzz when my guitarist breaks into a solo. It helps to fatten up the sound and add texture as if another guitarist was playing along with you.

Chorus or an octave pedal can help fatten things up to, just depends on what type of sound you're going for.