Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What is the best way to learn a song?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by H2ODog, Jan 25, 2004.

1. H2ODog

H2ODog

Sep 30, 2003
    Roseville, CA
    I have been playing bass for two months and I’m really enjoying it. I’m taking lessons and it’s helping a lot. I’m learning some blues songs with my teacher but I’m also interested in learning some rock songs on my own. I have gone to tab sites and found a couple but some don’t seem to be very accurate or don’t really have the whole song. My question is, what is the best method to learning a new song by yourself. I know I can ask my teacher but I don’t want to constantly pester the guy with questions and I would rather do these particular songs on my own just for my own learning experience. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. Jason Carota

Jason Carota Gold Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2002
    Lowell, MA
    That is what your teacher is there for. Don't get me wrong, though, figuring out songs is a great form of ear training.

As far as learning a song goes, just take your time. Listen to the song as many times as you can. This helps you to memorize the melody, beat, structure, and feel of the song. Then tackle one section of the song first. If you have to, go note-by-note (don't worry, speed will come with time.) Just take your time and don't get frustrated.

Good luck!

3. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA

Slowly.

4. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    There a few parts to REALLY learning a song:

1. learn to sing the melody; if it has words, learn them too EVEN IF YOU WILL NOT BE SINGING IT

2. work out what the chord progression is

3. learn to SING the recorded bass line

4. learn to play the recorded bass line

5. stephanie

stephanie

Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA