What makes one bass better than another

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by acmeseed, Sep 6, 2010.

1. Hello,

I often read a post by someone that mentions that they have played many of the same bass, but one stands above the others. I am wondering if you could share your thoughts on what makes one unit of let's say 20 Jazz basses better.

I am new to the bass guitar, I played for about 10 years on and off when I was in high school and into my 20s, but back then if the bass had 4 strings it was good, strings were changed when they broke ;~)

After that I got away from bass and picked up the guitar, but did not play regularly for years. I have 2 children that I would like to get exposed to music and would like to get back into it and would like to gain as much knowledge about the instrument as I can.

I will greatly appreciate your feedback.

2. Kraken

Kraken

Jun 19, 2001
    Aylesbury, England
    generally it is all about individual taste and opinion.

there are others who will argue otherwise, but to do it they will be using their tastes and opinions.

it is no more difficult than that.

3. better, how? Better for metal?

4. Factors such as materials (woods used), weight, fit and finish, hardware, etc. can all make a big impact in the overall impression a bass gives a player.

However, in my opinion, the biggest factor is in how the bass is set up. If the frets are even and level, the action/intonation is adjusted right, and the pickups are adjusted for string balance, then a bass can have an 'edge' that sets it apart from similar basses.

5. Greevus

Greevus

Apr 15, 2009