1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What strings for Fender Modern Player Telecaster Bass?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by bcfranco, Jan 10, 2017.

1. bcfranco

bcfranco

Feb 5, 2014
    Hey guys,
    I want to replace my strings for my bass, and I want some that make it sound like a late 60's bass.
    Which strings should I buy?
    I was thinking that maybe d'addario, thomastik or labella will do the job, but I want second opinion on this, as I am not an expert.
    Thank you very much.

PS: this is the bass I'm referring to:

2. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013
    Late 60's bass includes everything from Carole Kay playing on flats with a foam mute and pick to John Entwistle using rotos into a distorted Hiwatt guitar amp.
    You're going to have to be more specific.

3. 60's sound out of a "modern player"? That's what I call a contradiction in terms. ;):D

lz4005 likes this.
  4. bcfranco

bcfranco

Feb 5, 2014
    I use an Orange Terror Bass 500 with Ampeg 410 HE.

5. bcfranco

bcfranco

Feb 5, 2014
    Well Fender built these basses to "copy" some of the first basses they made I guess

6. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013
    Um... no.
    It's a copy of a 70's Tele bass with an added bridge pickup.

You still haven't said what you're trying to sound like.

7. bcfranco

bcfranco

Feb 5, 2014
    I like the sound I have now, but my strings are too old (I have stock strings that came with the bass). So I'm asking for suggestions actually that can improve my sound

8. b/o 402

b/o 402

Jul 14, 2015
    DC & RVA
    The late '60s had a broad spectrum of sounds. What sounds do you want to emulate?

9. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013
    He apparently has no idea.

10. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013