Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What to Practise

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Bass_noobzor, Sep 3, 2005.

1. Bass_noobzor

Bass_noobzor

Sep 2, 2005
    Ontario
    I'm new to bass and i don't know music theory, and i don't know what to practise playing.. do any of you know any easy songs to play, or something easy.. i have only been playing for two days now

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I suggest finding a good teacher to sort out what you should be practicing. For a beginner, I would recommend a couple easy scales, some finger dexterity drills, and a couple easy songs in the styles you like, which I don't know what they are. What do you like to play?

3. +1

If you are serious about learning, a teacher is the best way to go. He will be able to evaluate you and get a lesson plan down for you. He will also be able to show you proper technique and nip any bad habits before it becomes one.

The beginning of learning theory is learning the notes on the bass and learning scales. You can find a lot on scales here by searching the stickies posted at the top of this forum.

A good teacher will be able to work in a song to learn in you lessons. Usually it will be a song that will have an example of what you are learning so you can see how it is applied.

If you prefer to learn on your own, you can find a lot of information here by searching around this forum and the technique forum. There are also plenty of books and videos on the market for beginning bass, although I still recommend getting a teacher.

4. Nirvana4ever

Nirvana4ever

Aug 2, 2005