1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

when do you stop taking lessons?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by parksung, Mar 29, 2009.

1. parksung

parksung

Sep 2, 2007
    I'm a beginner and have had 4 lessons so far. The lessons are now moving into listening to favourite songs and mapping them out myself on bass. Luckily, I have a very good ear and can do this fairly easily (well, pretty straightforward rocks songs at least!).

If we continue to do this, it seems like I could save my money and do it at home because I don't really need someone to help me here. But I still need to learn other things like chords, arpeggios, etc. don't I?

When can you tell you don't need lessons and need to figure things out and experiment on your own? What are the basics I should get before quitting lessons?

2. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    There are virtuoso concert violinists who still take lessons. I stopped taking lessons when I graduated from college, moved to a different town, and just didn't get back into playing for a while. Of course money was an issue too. Nowadays, day job, family life, and gigging, get in the way of making the time commitment. Still, I would like to find a teacher who would be willing to give me an occasional lesson and critique my playing.

With that said, I am glad that I have 10 years of classical lessons under my belt. The guys I am "competing" with have music degrees.

What makes this hard to answer is that one doesn't "need" anything, but it's a matter of how much better you want to get.

On the other hand, there are other learning opportunities like playing in a good band, that could serve the role of pushing you forward and giving you new challenges.

3. atheos

atheos

Sep 28, 2008
    Tampere, Finland