Which bass should I buy?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Insipricated, Aug 9, 2013.

1. Insipricated

Insipricated

Aug 9, 2013
    Hey everyone, I'm new here and I've decided to start playing Bass again. I'm currently working a solo project, and I'm unsure which bass I should buy.

I'm currently looking at either the 'Squier Vintage Modified Jazz bass,' 'Squier vintage modified Jaguar bass,' or the 'Squier vintage modified Jaguar SS (short scale) bass.'

I'm planning on playing in either Standard, D Standard or Drop D. (Most probably Drop D) and going for a Rockish, alternative sound. (E.g Pearl Jam, Arctic Monkeys, Temple of Dog, Guns 'n' Roses, etc)

I only really want to pay $400 or less, just because I don't really earn too much money being an apprentice, I'm also investing in other musical gear and would rather keep prices relatively low and if all goes well upgrade later.

(I was only considering the SS because even though I'm 6'3 tall with long arms I think I'd be able to play a SS a bit faster and with more ease as I'm used to playing Guitar)

((Sorry if I posted in the wrong Forum))

2. llldino

llldino

Dec 16, 2012
    i like squiers newish stuff. definitely not the best electronics but the neck has a nice feel to it. I personally wouldn't go with any short scale stuff, as for the other two, basically what's your pleasure? You get a more defined, characteristic sound with the jazz bass, and you get a fundamental, more solid sound with the jaguar due to the p style pickups.

3. Insipricated

Insipricated

Aug 9, 2013