1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Who else is a Pop bassist?!

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Din Of Win, Apr 30, 2010.

1. Hey guys and gals,

I was curious if anyone else plays bass for a pop act. With a growing number of today's pop acts moving to key-based bass lines, i love it when i see an actual bassist rocking it on stage!

So, who else plays pop??! Are there any pop bassists you site as inspirations?

2. amroach

amroach

Feb 11, 2009
    Bristol, UK
    Well i guess i'm a pop bassist, as it seem a genre that keeps being labeled upon my main ensemble but i don't really take any interest or inspiration from pop music as i listen to mostly: metal, prog, blues, jazz, rock, most things really but not pop.

3. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    toms_river.nj.us
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    Pop is a broad term...

I like a lot of stuff I consider pop, a few of my favorites in the genre off the top of my head are:

Chris Chaney (from Michelle Branch to Celine Dion and beyond)
    Sam Dixon (Sia)
    Charlie Colin (Train)
    Matt Malley (Counting Crows)

4. This is true. But the same can be said about pretty much any genre with today's love of genre-labeling.

Haha, people can answer in regards to their own definitions. I don't care.

Personally, i think of pop as hella-catchy, vocally-fronted music aimed at a broad audience.

And FWIW, i don't really listen to all that much pop myself either. I mostly listen to other stuff. Shoot, at a recent show i rocked a His Hero is Gone shirt with pants that had both a McCarthyism (record label) and Orchid patch on them. The audience was mainly, like, 15-19 y/o girls.

5. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather

Besides being a 'funk and r&b' bassist, I consider myself a 'pop' bassist since I play in cover bands playing mostly top40 pop dance music.

6. Double Agent

Double Agent

Mar 10, 2006