Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Who is using n-Track?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by thwackless, May 17, 2005.

1. thwackless

thwackless

Nov 24, 2003
    Smithfield, RI
    I'm looking seriously at this program. I've got a Tascam US-428 thing, and have Cool Edit Pro 2. I'm interested in hearing anyone's experiences with n-Track, and would like to hear about the features, stability, and support you get with it.

I'm no pro, and I just can't hang with spending $3-$600- You have to purchase Sonar Producer if you want 4-band EQ from Cakewalk! Why do that? Is it that different?

I'm keeping it mostly simple, and want to spend my time on recording techniques, and my $ on mics, etc.

'Nuff from me. I'm listening, and thanks!

P.S. I'm open to other recommendations, also, if you feel strongly about them.

2. dhodgeh

dhodgeh

Jul 15, 2004
    FLA-USA
    I'll start out by saying it's been a while since I've used N-Track, but back then, I found the interface a bit to cluttered as compared to Cool Edit (now Adobe Audition).

I'm now using the latest version of Audition, 1.5 and it seems to have everything I need, including VST plugin support. YMMV however. You can upgrade from CE Pro 2 to Audition 1.5 for $69, I think.

FWIW

D

3. msquared

msquared

Sep 19, 2004
    Kansas City
    I really liked N-Track's interface, though I'll agree that it's cluttered and somewhat ugly. I stopped using it because of stability issues, but I hesitate to blame that specifically on N-Track. I have more than one friend who will swear buy it. If you can't afford Sonar, N-Track is the next best choice.

4. thwackless

thwackless

Nov 24, 2003
    Smithfield, RI
    Yeah, it does have that "cheap" look, which I kind of like, in a way. :smug: