1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

Who's behind the beat?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by BurghMuso, Mar 4, 2021.

1. BurghMuso

BurghMuso

Jul 23, 2020
    Hey guys,

I'm doing some recording at home and arranged all the parts for a tune. It's a Jazzy Blues number along the lines of Robben Ford.

I'm trying to improve the feel of the tune and my understanding around who/what plays on the beat and who/what is behind. I understand that it can vary but I'm just wondering about what my be a good formula as a starting point?

I've started with the bass on the beat, the drums and rhythm guitar slightly behind.
    What are peoples thoughts? I'm a newb to this so please be gentle :)

Thx

2. BurghMuso

BurghMuso

Jul 23, 2020
    Here's the work in progress

3. Drucifer

Drucifer Not currently practicing Gold Supporting Member

Apr 20, 2009
    Houston Heights, Texas
    Endorsements: your name could be here, Mr. Sadowsky!
    The bass is pushing the song, sounds good to me!

sonojono and BurghMuso like this.
  4. BurghMuso

BurghMuso

Jul 23, 2020
    Thanks for the feedback buddy :)

Drucifer likes this.
  5. Yeah sounds fine to me. I wouldn't worry about formulas. Just play your music.

6. BurghMuso

BurghMuso

Jul 23, 2020
    thx man!

Spin Doctor likes this.
  7. If you're thinking about who sits where in the beat, I think you got it spot on!

Killing Floor and BurghMuso like this.
  8. BurghMuso

BurghMuso

Jul 23, 2020
    @Spin Doctor Yup. Just trying to get a feel for which instrument sits on the beat for this style. If it's the bass, is it ok for the other instruments to play behind?

9. Killing Floor

Killing Floor Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2020
    Austin, TX